Washington D.C.

Category: Urban


Formerly the District of Columbia and now known as “the District” or simply “D.C.”, Washington D.C. is the capital of the United States and the focal point of the nation’s federal government.

The states of Virginia and Maryland donated land to create the District, and it was founded and named in honor of President George Washington in 1791. Because of its history and prominence, it is home to many museums, landmarks and monuments and includes all 176 foreign embassies as well as many international establishments.